My new favorite song…

So, you know how every once in a while, you come across a song that just hits the spot? You find yourself just pushing the back button on your ipod when there are only like 5 seconds left and just listening to it all over again…

Well… that has been this song for me! Sara Groves is rockin’ my world with her song “When The Saints”. I mean, any time I find a song that molds social justice stuff with a Hammond organ and a gospel choir in the background, you know a brother has got to smile! But snap… read these lyrics and see if it doesn’t get you krunk…

But more importantly, you should get this CD and add it to your collection, because it is well worth the money, even if it were for this song alone.

Lord I have a heavy burden of all I’ve seen and know
It’s more than I can handle
But your word is burning like a fire shut up in my bones
and I cannot let it go

And when I’m weary and overwrought
with so many battles left unfought

I think of Paul and Silas in the prison yard
I hear their song of freedom rising to the stars
And when the Saints go marching in
I want to be one of them

Lord it’s all that I can’t carry and cannot leave behind
It often overwhelms me
When I think of all who’ve gone before me and lived the faithful life
Their courage compells me

And when I’m weary and overwrought
with so many battles left unfought

I think of Paul and Silas in the prison yard
I hear their song of freedom rising to the stars

I see the shepherd Moses in the Pharoh’s court
I hear his call of freedom for the people of the Lord

And when the Saints go marching in
I want to be one of them
And when the Saints go marching in
I want to be one of them

I see the long quiet walk along the Underground Railroad
I see the slave awakening to the value of her soul

I see the young missionary and the end of the spear
I see his family returning with no trace of fear

I see the long hard shadows of Calcutta nights
I see the sisters standing by the lepers side

I see the young girl huddled on the brothel floor
I see the man with a passion come and kicking down the door

I see the man of sorrows and his long troubled road
I see the world on his shoulders and my easy load

And when the Saints go marching in
I want to be one of them

3 thoughts on “My new favorite song…

  1. Thanks for the recommendation – will definitely pick up the CD.
    The song I keep listening to right now is “Daylight” by Ten Shekel Shirt. The album is great and this song is really good…definitely need to check it out.

  2. ahhh love this song. i have the same feeling–i find myself replaying this over and over again–it is just so good!

    and Ryan, thank you so much for your previous few posts–they have challenged me and i look forward to coming to your blog because I really appreciate how you present the truth of with such a sincere and humble heart.

    I heard a quote by Karl Barth today, you might have heard it before….when I heard this, it was so simple yet I feel it is a very significant thought. You were one of the first people who came to my mind who encourage me of the importance of living this way.

    “We must hold the Bible in one hand and the newspaper in the other.”–Karl Barth

    I am continually praying for you and Sarah! I can’t wait to see yall again!

  3. I also love this so Iweep every time she goes through the long “… I think of…”

    Social injustice is something that we do fight as believers. We don’t fight it in the same way as unbelievers do… But we fight it by facing it and responding in a different way… In love and peace and sharing hope in Christ.

    Blessings brother.
    Sherman

Leave a Reply

