world . aids . day

Around the world today, people are stopping to consider the impact that HIV&AIDS has had on the human race.

As I stop and do just that, I’m reminded of many faces that became friends while I was in Malawi. Many people who contracted HIV and were doing their best to make the most of life with this virus.

As I write this, I am becoming aware of my tendency to move on from that experience. Faces and memories are getting blurry, and with each word of Chichewa that slips my mind, my soul forgets another detail of the reality for people living with AIDS in Malawi.

Today is as much for me as it is for them. For people living with HIV, they don’t need to be reminded that it exists. Each and every minute of every day, they know what HIV is doing to their body and to their society. It’s not for them that we pause to think… it’s for us.

It’s for us to consider the fact that 33 million of our fellow humans are currently living with a disease that is killing them at an alarming rate.

It’s a day for us to consider why 95% of those living with HIV are in developing countries.

It’s a time for us to think about the impact that this one tiny virus is having and will have on society.

It’s a chance for us to contemplate how we [you + I] need to respond.

You can’t simply ignore the fact that this is something plaguing the world.

I highly encourage you to check out this interactive AIDS experience. It will change the way you see those living with HIV.

If you’re new to this blog or haven’t known me for very long, you should also check out things I wrote while living in Malawi working with those affected by HIV&AIDS. I’ve pulled up some of the posts that I wrote specifically regarding HIV&AIDS… you can check them out here.

Refuse to not be educated about what’s happening around you.

Refuse to turn your head away from those sitting on the side of the road.

Stop.

Listen.

Help.

2 thoughts on “world . aids . day

  1. Thanks for giving me a jolt back to reality.

    My heart just traveled back to a village in Malawi where I sat on a straw mat, staring into the face of a woman who had little hope. I will never forget the look in her eyes, offering to pray for her (with you as my interpreter), praying that she would know our Lord had a plan for her life. I remember thinking how courageous she appeared, I wondered if I could be that courageous knowing the only medication I received would be a handful of aspirin. I can’t help but wonder if she has gone home to be with the Lord, taken by this dreadful disease.

    Unfortunately it should not be so easy to forget those suffering with AIDS, especially in developing countries. It should NEVER be okay not to have access to medication to treat this disease. We all need to do our part, no matter how small to change the outcome of this disease.

    Thanks for reminding us to STOP and RESPOND!

Leave a Reply

