Together For Adoption 2010

*Photo from an orphan care center in Chilumba, Malawi, 2007

I could not be more excited to spend the next few days of my life at the Together for Adoption Conference in Austin.

Surrounded by hundreds of people who care deeply for the orphan.

Encouraged to continue on the difficult journey of advocacy and care for the least of those among us.

A few months ago when I was on their website still debating whether or not we would be able to carve out the time to attend the conference, I was reading through the line-up of breakout sessions… and just from reading the different topics covered, my eyes were welling up with tears. You know that feeling… the same feeling I get when something really heroic happens in a movie and you get that lump in your throat. I was simply amazed that there was a conference that would cover so many facets of caring for the orphan… and that this conference was going to be just an hour and a half away from us!

Honestly, I feel like the title is a little misleading… really, this is much more about being together for the ORPHAN. Of course, adoption is a huge part in caring for the orphan… but, there are so many other aspects to this as well, and I’m so excited that we’ll be covering all of them.

So, later today, we’re going to be heading over to Austin for the next few days… we’ll be chillin’ some of our best friends as well, which makes it all the better!

Some of the things that I most excited about with this conference are the breakout sessions. I’ll be attending a session led by Esther Havens about using photography to impact the global orphan crisis. Obviously, this is something extremely close to my heart… and even this week, I’ve been blown away by the doors that God is potentially opening for me to travel and use photography to give a voice to the voiceless around the world!

I’m also attending a session with Aaron Ivey on “Using Music as a Voice for the Orphan”. Can’t wait to learn from him… his songs have spoken deeply to me about the orphan.

Sara and I are also in the last stages of being licensed to become foster parents… so, we’ll be checking out sessions that can help us know more about what to expect. I’ll also be checking out a few sessions about how the church can care for the orphan.

It’s been a while since I have written about many personal things on this blog. But, I just could not contain my excitement about this.

Hopefully, I’ll be tweeting my thoughts throughout the conference… so, be sure and follow me on Twitter @ry_pri if you want to hear what’s happening.

One thought on “Together For Adoption 2010

  1. So excited about the doors and opportunities the Lord is opening for you and Sara! Enjoy the conference…can’t wait to hear the details!

    Love Ya’ll!

Leave a Reply

