putting things on hold

I was about half way through writing my post for today’s Friday Photography Insight when the phone rang yesterday. For the past 3 weeks, we have been officially licensed foster parents… just waiting for the call.

If you’re a client and have called later at night thinking that surely I would not answer my phone and you actually had to talk to me, that’s because I definitely thought that YOU were our caseworker calling us with a possible foster placement. Lots of disappointing realizations to say the least.

But, as I was sitting at my computer writing about ISO (that’s what the next post will be about), the phone rang and I answered.

A 5 year old boy… we’ll call him “D” here on the interwebs.

Sara and I had a game plan for when such a call would come. I would immediately text her phone and say “CALL ME” (had to be in all caps)… I would also send her an email and any other thing I could do to get her attention. As soon as she could pull herself away from her class she would call me and we’d make the final decision.

She called back pretty darn quickly. I answered and heard her yelling in the background to her kids, “I SAAIID SIT DOWN!”. I knew at that point that she meant business! We decided that there was no reason why we shouldn’t accept the placement, and within a matter of hours, we had a little 5 year old sitting in our living room.

It has been a whirlwind of a day… it’s been emotional and hard… but, it’s also been hopeful and exciting.

So, the next few days will involve us getting to know each other better. If I don’t respond to an email super-fast, you’ll have to just get over that! 🙂

Here’s to the journey ahead… a journey that promises to pull us closer to the Lord for our strength and dependence. We appreciate all prayers for us and for D.

8 thoughts on “putting things on hold

  1. I want you to know how much your blog inspires me not only as a photographer but as a person. I wish you the best with “D”. Congradulations, I know that you will touch this kids life in such a postive way. He is very lucky.

  2. Hey Price Fam! B.J. and Meg King here! Just wanted you all to know that we are excited for you. Fostering is such a neat thing. Enjoy D and know that we will pray for you.

    I love the blog btw.
    Hi Sara.
    -Meg

  3. Having been a foster parent I know the bag of emotions that come along with a child. You are excited to serve the Lord by loving on one who needs so much. Yet at the same time there is great sorrow for their loss and pain.

    It’s also quite a shock to the system, especially for people new to parenting. After our first placement, it was a good 6 weeks before anything about my life seemed normal. And while you will feel blessed by D in ways that you couldn’t imagine before, you may also feel stressed beyond what you have known before and then guilty that you feel that way.

    When God calls you to do something, He will provide. There were times when I was thanking Him with all my being for having the privelage to love those kids. There were times when I was on my knees begging Him to help me make it through the day. He was always there.

    I will be praying for you and your wife and D. I am excited for you and a little nervous too. May God bless you.

Leave a Reply

