A Tribute To A Great Artist | Charles Stagg

With a heavy heart, today I reflect on the life of a great artist, mentor, friend and uncle.

My uncle, Charles Stagg, passed away earlier this morning.

I grew up living across the street from him. As a boy, I was always intrigued by this mysterious man. He was definitely different than most people in our small southeast Texas town. He thought deeply about things, lived secluded in the woods without electricity in a home that was a constantly evolving work of art that he built right out of the dirt, and listed to NPR on his little radio. I used to wonder what kind of person would just listen to people talking in monotone voices all day long… now, I’m kind of an NPR junkie myself, and I see what the draw was.

I was always inspired by my uncle. A man that spent his life literally piecing sticks together to make art. Pioneering a form of art that a lot of people probably looked at and thought was somewhat a joke, but will no doubt be looked at and remembered as greatness for years to come.

I only hope to aspire to be as thoughtful of an artist as he was… leaving a mark on the world through what can be seen and beheld.

I will indeed miss having rather uncommon conversations with him and seeing what new thing he had put his hand to. I’m thankful that somewhere swimming around in my blood are bits of hippie that link us together.

May his work and legacy live on.

10 thoughts on “A Tribute To A Great Artist | Charles Stagg

  1. RYAN: What awesome pics. I think everyone of us has or has had an “eccentric” aunt, uncle or other relative that leaves an impression on us. It’s cool that you not only have memories, but pictures as well! I’m so sorry for your familiy’s loss. I have to believe that there is a really “groovy” place in heaven for your uncle!

  2. I am Jennifer Griffith, daughter of Patsy Stagg Griffith. I met your uncle at a Stagg Family Reunion many years ago and was always intrigued by his artwork. I’m sorry for your loss and hope that his artwork can live on through family and friends.

  3. I remember seeing his work in the papers………can’t remember when or where otherwise. A true artist must be true to his work, even if he hears a different drummer drumming than the rest of us. I know your family will miss this “excentric” personality in your family. But you were also lucky to have known a true artist. Many of us never do. I hope someone will be able to preserve his home; his art.
    I also enjoyed the lasagna receipe at the end……………

  4. You and your family have my deepest sympathies on the loss of your uncle. My husband, myself, and our sons came across his home a few weeks ago while hiking in the woods behind our house. We have lived here for almost 12 years, and never knew about Charlie or his wonderful art. When we came upon the wall with the towers, we were scared. I quickly urged my family to head back home, for fear a gun-wielding survivalist lived there and would shoot us on sight. After some research, we learned about our neighbor. We vowed to get back out there and introduce ourselves once it dried up and the mosquitoes cleared out. Sadly, our procrastination has robbed of us the chance to meet a truly gifted man. I am sincerely heartbroken over Mr. Stagg’s death. I hope that some action will be taken to preserve his home and art so that Charlie can continue to be an inspiration to us all.

  5. This man brought an element of magic to our childhood. This he extended to my daughter when we visited a few years ago. We will miss him.

  6. My husband and I adored your uncle. We have some of his beautiful art and my husband worked many many hours with Charlie on his house and property. He would come home with some of the best stories and always words of wisdom from him. I have a chalkboard and I would write my favorites on them. two of my favorites …”art is hard work” and “happiness is never having to measure anything”. I work at the very NPR station that you referred to in your post. It always made me happy to know he was listening. He was a beautiful and unique soul. We were blessed to know him. I’m so sorry for your loss.

  7. I KNEW CHARLIE AT BOTH MCC AND AT BAYLOR. HE WAS MY FRIEND AND HE SHOWED ME HOW IMPORTANT ART WAS. I AM AN ARTIST TOO AND REMEMBER WHEN HE WOULD COME BY MY STUDIO IN THE OLD DAYS. I MISS HIM TOO. I DO HAVE A FEW DRAWINGS HE DID AND A POT.

Leave a Reply

