Mason | c. 4 months old

One of the things that I’ve enjoyed about being a parent who also happens to be a photographer is that I don’t have to plan out photo shoots of our children.

Honestly, I’m getting a little worn out from doing the elaborate photo sessions of kids with all kinds of props and bells and whistles and circuses… it just seems a bit much sometimes and I wonder if one day we’ll look back and just laugh at it all.

When I look back on my children’s photos, I want to be reminded of real moments with them. What they wore all the time… what they looked like sitting in OUR house. I want remember the emotion of what it felt like to hold them.

So, I’ve made a point to just document the mundane things… just our kid wearing what he wears all the time… laying on our floor… looking normal.

This was one of those impromptu photo shoots that happened while I was supposed to be holding Mason while Sara was preparing dinner one night. I was sitting with him in my office and something came over me forcing me to stop what I was doing and pick up my camera. So, I literally just laid him at my feet and used the blank wood floor of my office as a canvas.

Fifteen minutes later, he started fussing, so we shut the thing down and ate dinner.

Leave a Reply

